March

March 24th, 2016

Dear little pea,

I know it’s been a while in between posts but life has been busy, stressful and exhausting the past 10 days.

We’re still trying to sort everything and it’s amazing how much stuff you realise you have when you have to pack it all into boxes. Your dad’s been completely on the ball; painting rooms, cleaning and being totally supportive when I haven’t felt well enough to help. This is our last week in the cottage as we move next Friday 1st April, that day couldn’t come soon enough! I’m very tired, stressed and loathe being surrounded by countless boxes everywhere but I know the day will soon be here. Patience is a virtue, patience is a virtue… 

We’ve acquired a number of helpers for moving day which I’m quite surprised at. One being my Nan (or your Great Grandma). She has even offered to knit you a little cardigan for when you arrive! It’s nice to feel that she is genuinely happy for us as she can be quite a difficult lady to get on with and we’ve never really been that close. Ever since my Grandad passed away in 2003, we’ve all become different people. It affected everyone a huge amount, one of them being the relationship I had with her. We are all in much better places now and I hope that this can be the start of something better for the future; and I would have to thank you for all of this 🙂 I like to think that my Grandad is looking down on us all and I really do hope he is proud of me. You would have loved him so much.

Talking more of you, we had our first scan on Monday 21st! I’d been excited for this day for weeks but when it actually came I was so nervous and worried about every problem I could think of. I know I’m not the only one to have felt like this but there is literally nothing you can do about it until you go into the scan room!

With a great sigh of relief you were there. In black and white, tiny you on the screen above us. Heart beating, all limbs present and wriggling around trying to hide from the transducer. I was holding your dad’s hand so tightly it began to feel clammy and I started crying. I was so overwhelmed at actually seeing you, it was like a feeling I cannot put into words. It was surreal, amazing and I felt proud.
I’m the one who gets to be your mama.

You had not a care in the world, dancing around and perching your little legs up against the side of my womb like you were just sat chilling out. That was a moment of pure happiness and I will never forget how it felt.

Your due date has changed to the 1st October which is the exact same date that your cousin Lucas was due last year! He ended up being almost two weeks late so I hope you don’t follow suit and are either early to a healthy degree or on time!

1.2.392.200036.9116.6.18.14514920.1788.20160321144245645.2
This is you! You were facing the other way for this photo but it’s the best one we could get of all of you before you started moving around again!

I’ve been very protective over our scan photos and have only shown close friends and family. I will not be sharing them on social media but I felt this was different as this blog is for you.

I made a separate photo for sharing with our wider circle of friends 🙂

IMG_6515 copy
October 2016, two becomes three!

This week has been overwhelming with highs and lows. I said goodbye to a friend on Tuesday and she had a lovely funeral service that everyone was so proud of. I feel sad that she’s no longer here but she left behind such an impact on every one she met and she is no longer in pain or suffering, so for that I feel better.

Unfortunately the dreaded nausea has returned and I thought I was almost getting away with it! We venture into the second trimester soon and I’m hoping with all my might that it doesn’t linger for too long.

It’s Easter this weekend so I hope we get to go out and enjoy the extra few days we have off work.

Love always,
mumma
xox


You are currently the size of a Roborovski hamster/a small Ladurée macaroon which are absolutely delicious! Your vocal chords have started developing and your kidneys have started to function. Your intestines have started to move into the correct place as have your ears. Your bones are strengthening every day and tiny hairs have started to grow to keep you warm. 

5 thoughts on “March 24th, 2016

  1. I was absolutely thrilled to see this post on my Reader! I had been waiting to see how it went and CONGRATULATIONS on having a great scan! The little one looks great and cozy 😉
    I am sorry to hear of the passing of your friend and I am sure your grandfather is really proud- what you wrote is really sweet.
    I find that now I’m pregnant I’m more in tune with other people and what is happening around me; like my intuition is improving. I had a dream that I urgently had to reach out to a friend I haven’t spoken to in years and when I woke up, he had posted that his brother had passed away and he needed people to talk to because he was going through a rough time. It was so strange, but it’s definitely a good example of how I just.. feel MORE now. Love coming from ones who have passed on is part of this too- it’s a pretty surreal feeling. I hope that doesn’t sound strange haha
    Many well wishes to you and your growing family!

    Like

    1. Thank you that’s so nice of you to say 🙂 I completely agree with you about being more in tune with everything. I feel a higher sense of purpose and assertiveness. Maybe it’s a special ability that only mums and mums-to-be acquire for the future?! I look forward to reading more of your journey, it seems we’re due around the same time?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I believe we are! I’m sticking to the date originally given to me of October 3rd, but with first pregnancies I hear you can deliver a bit late, so who knows. My step son was born on Halloween so it seems like joint birthday parties may be in our future!

        Like

      2. More mommy intuition 😉

        I would love to have a September baby since my Birthday is on Sept 15th. It would be nice for the kiddos to have separate birth months but we’ll see I guess! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

